Marketing Society extends voting rights to corporate members

The Marketing Society has passed a resolution by a handsome majority at an emergency general meeting (EGM) to extend voting rights to corporate members for the first time. The constitutional change means that the society’s individual and corporate members will now be able to vote in the upcoming council elections.

Two council members are retiring this year – former chairman Jimmy Murphy of Publicis and Orla Murphy of Amárach. As a result, there is a vacancy on the general panel open to all marketers plus a vacancy on the research panel. All nominations for the council elections must be for a current individual society member.

Those remaining on council are Aoife Sadlier, Angela Healy, Fiona Curtin, Grainne Gallagher, Ruth Guy, Martha Fanning, Pat Stephenson, Leona Daly, Mark Nolan and Grainne O’Brien. Forms should be signed by the nominee and submitted with a photo and brief biography. Completed forms must be returned by June 8.

A new council will be ratified at the society AGM in Residence at 6pm on Thursday, July 12.

Jimmy Murphy, Publicis

Jimmy Murphy pictured with Ruth Guy and Orla Tighe, Barnardos. The Publicis director and Orla Murphy, Amárach, are stepping down from the Marketing Society council this year after four years service

For more details on the Marketing Society click on

Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy