Newstalk, FM104 and WLR among winners at PPI Awards

Newstalk 106-108 FM was named full service station of the year at the ninth annual Phonographic Performance Ireland (PPI) awards in the Lyrath Hotel in Kilkenny on Friday night. FM104 won the music station of the year award and WLR, which recently celebrated its 20th year on air, took the local station of the year gong.
RTE’s Ryan Tubridy and Sean O’Rourke won the speech broadcaster and news broadcaster awards. Ray Foley of Today FM was named music broadcaster of the year and Newstalk’s Eoin McDevitt took the sports broadcaster trophy. Gay Byrne, now 50 years in broadcasting, won the PPI outstanding achievement award.
Beat 102-103 FM, the music station serving the south east, won the radio promotion of the year for its controversial Two Strangers and a Wedding campaign.

Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy