Sexton named Ireland’s rugby writers top player

Ireland and Leinster out-half Johnny Sexton has been named the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Player of the Year at its annual awards. Sexton played a vital role in what has been a truly historic year for Irish rugby. With the Ireland team, Sexton has won the NatWest 6 Nations, a Grand Slam, the Triple Crown and a first series win in Australia since 1979.

With Leinster, Seexton won the European Rugby Champions Cup and the Guinness PRO14. Last weekend’s victory over New Zealand in Dublin – 113 years in the making – has further cemented his position as the best out-half in the world. Sexton was honoured at the evening hosted by Diageo and  rugby writers chairman, Simon Lewis, in the Aviva Stadium.

The former St Mary’s club member fronts the current Mace TV campaign created by Ogilvy.

The evening also saw honours presented to the Ireland’s men’s national team, Dr Claire Molloy, Leinster Rugby and Lansdowne FC. Gerry ‘Ginger’ McLoughlin and John O’Driscoll were inducted into the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame.

Photo by Inpho’s Dan Sheridan

Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy