Flahavans among artisan food winners

Flahavans was among the Irish food award winners at a lunch in l’Ecrivain restaurant yesterday. The Waterford producer of porridge and oat-based foods won a special environmental award presented by the Irish Food Writers’ Guild (IFWG). Now in its 17th year, the awards honour standards of excellence and exceptional contributions to Ireland’s reputation as a top food producer. In all, five industry awards were presented.

Other producers honoured by the IFWG were Janet Drew for Janet’s Country Fayre Beetroot Blush (Wicklow), Brian and Lindy O’Hara for Coopershill House Irish Venison (Sligo) and Pat O’Neill for O’Neill Foods Dry Cured Rashers, Bacon & Ham (Wexford). Derek O’Brien won the guild’s seldom awarded lifetime achievement award for passing on his passion for bread-making at DIT and as head of the Baking Academy of Ireland.

Peter Caviston

Peter Caviston of Caviston’s food emporium in Glasthule at the IFWG awards lunch in l’Ecrivain

The awards were presented by Darina Allen of Ballymaloe Country House & Restaurant. The cuisine was specially prepared by l’Ecrivain owner-chef Derry Clarke. Attending the lunch were IFWG members Orla Broderick and Myles McWeeney, Norah Casey, Harmonia, Biddy White Lennon and broadcaster and foodie Derek Davis. The Gilbeys wines and water were sponsored by Marie Cooney’s Tipperary Spring Water.

Flahavans’ John Noonan was Marketing.ie‘s Marketer of the Year¬†in 2009.

Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy