Marketer of the Year deadline looms

A reminder goes out to contenders for this year’s Marketer of the Year that submissions must be made by close of business this Wednesday. Some of the best known names in Irish marketing have won the award since 1993. In 1997, the joint winners were Avoca’s Simon and Amanda Pratt. In 2010, it was the turn of Fáilte Ireland’s John Concannon. Last year, Valeo Foods’ marketing boss Loretta Dignam won for Jacob’s Biscuits.

Marketer of the Year salutes marketing excellence in Ireland. The winner is someone, who through the use of strategy, innovation, communications and impact on the target market, has made their brand a major success. Candidates can either enter the competition themselves, or ask someone to nominate them. Entrants are asked to make submissions based on a number of clearly-defined guidelines (see entry form).

Firstly, entrants must outline the scale of the marketing challenge faced. They need to explain their strategy and implications for the business. Next up, they should detail the insights driving the strategy, the actions taken and tactics used. Finally, they should explain the impact on the target market and how success was measured.

Marketer of the Year 2011 Loretta Dignam with JP Donnelly, Ogilvy

Last year’s Marketer of the Year winner Loretta Dignam with Ogilvy Ireland’s JP Donnelly

Smurfit Business School’s professor of marketing Dr Damien McLoughlin chairs the judging panel. He is joined by Pat Kiely, TV3; Carol Fanagan, Red C; Jamie Helly, Dynamo; Aidan Power, KBC Bank; marketing consultant and OMD executive Carolyn Odgers; John Mitchell, Strata3; Rosita Wolfe, National Concert Hall; Claire Cluskey, Empirica; Brendan Shortt, Innocent Drinks and Liz Rowen, Aviva Health.

Marketer of the Year is organised by in association with Alternatives. The winner will be announced at an industry lunch in the Cliff House restaurant on Dublin’s St Stephen’s Green on Thursday, November 15.

Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy